Geisel 2007 Award & Honors

For more information about the Geisel Award, visit the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award homepage.

zeldaandivytherunaways
Winner: Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky

Two sisters named Zelda and Ivy are off on several adventures in this three chapter beginning reader. First the sisters run away from home when their parents make cucumber sandwiches again, then they make a time capsule, and finally each sister embarks on their own creation adventure.

This book is definitely an upper level beginning reader. It reads very much like “Frog and Toad” or “Ling & Ting” books. I really enjoyed the camaraderie between the sisters — it definitely reminded me of my childhood adventures with my sister so I imagine young readers will relate to the book. The text is supported with boxed illustrations on most pages with a few integrated images on others.

Great for fans of “Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa”, this book (and series) is all about friendship in the end.


geiselhonors2007

Honor: Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride by Kate DiCamillo

Mercy Watson is back in this second book in the series. Every Saturday, she and Mr. Watson go for a ride in his pink convertible. But one Saturday turns into a grand adventure when Mercy inadvertently gets behind the wheel. This fabulous early chapter book will delight readers everywhere.

Honor: Move Over, Rover! by Karen Beaumont

Rover’s doghouse becomes a safe haven for all the forest animals when it starts to rain. But there’s one animal who can chase them out — skunk! This picture book is told in rhyme as a cumulative story and is excellent for beginning readers to hear read aloud or to read on their own.

Honor: Not a Box by Antoinette Portis

Rabbit has a box…or does he? Rabbit’s imagination drives this story that will resonate with children who love the box more than the toy inside of it. Another picture book awarded a Geisel Honor, this book works wonderfully in storytime and will have beginning readers shouting along: “It’s not a box!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s